I want so badly to believe that there is truth, that love is real

A decade ago, The Postal Service put out Give Up, the quintessential indie rock album that every person in my rock circle fell in love with. We all had a story of breakups or makeups that involved the album. I even met a guy who had to bury his copy in the ground because it held too many memories for him. But in one way or another, we all had a connection to it.

There’s something about this band that has transversed genres. It’s somehow reached well beyond the Pitchfork-reading crowd to just about everyone I know. When I mentioned to my Swedish metal-loving friend that I was seeing them live, he surprised me by saying he was a huge fan as well. I never, ever thought we’d agree to a band but that’s what the Postal Service has done.

I missed them when they toured on the album originally. A former roommate told me she had seen them in a super small venue, and I spent years seething at the fact she got to see them and I didn’t. So when they announced they were touring for the anniversary of its release, there was no way I was missing it.

I got to see them about a month ago. At the time, I was worried that their luster had perhaps faded in my eyes.  A few notes in to their set I knew I had made a wise decision to see them, and see them now. While it would have been sweet to see them in a small venue, a decade of anticipation – not just me but from everyone who missed them the first time – caused this unbelievably awesome experience. The 5,000 people in the sold-out crowd danced and sang along in unison. I made friends with the people in front of us who were just as excited to see them. We got to have this amazing shared moment because we had all waited ten years for this to happen.

I hope I don’t have to wait another ten years for something from them, but if I have to, I hope the experience is just as sweet.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

