I will buy you a new life

So it has been a little quiet around here lately. That is because I’ve been preoccupied with non library related stuff like…

I bought a house.

photo

I wanted to title this post HOLY SHITBALLS I’M A GROWNUP* because I’ve said that a lot lately.

It took me 35 years to get there, but I’m finally feeling like an adult. An adult who gets carded for alcohol still and rocks fun socks with her Mary Janes but an adult nonetheless.

The truth is, it’s about time. I moved here for library school but I adamantly declared my disdain for the city. It was not Chicago. It was not home. Add in a job I loathed and I became quite the sour librarian to be around. I was always mocking its feeble attempts to be like a big city.

But after getting a new job that I love and feeling more secure financially, I decided it was time to own the city I’ve lived in for the past eight years.

Eight years.

For eight years I’ve complained about living here. No music scene. No public transportation to speak of. No people who get me or my interest. I was a big city mouse trying to make it in this country place.

But it turns out that in those eight years I refused to see what was going on around me. I live in a city that ranks in the top 15 biggest cities in the country. It’s not as small as I like to make it. The music scene has increased exponentially thanks to Craig at MOKB. And turns out there’s way more things to do that interest me but I just had to meet the right people to expose me to it.

So the only thing left was finally to accept this city isn’t half bad and worth putting down roots in.

That’s the grown up thing to do, right?

* instead I gave you an Everclear one. I’m sorry about that.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Being a Grown Up, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I will buy you a new life

  1. 7shore says:

    Stephen Stills, of Cosby, Stills, & Nash, said it before you were born. “If you’re not with the one you love, love the one you’re with.” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbAXnGx-jsk

Leave a Reply

