It’s gettin’ better all the time

The theme of my life right now appears to be legacy problems.

Legacy problems are those issues that exist long before today that plague you from moving toward tomorrow. Sometimes it is a previous plan in place that cannot be changed. Sometimes it is an outdated opinion that cannot be swayed. And sometimes it is your own fear that is based on prior experiences that keeps you from doing something properly. Regardless of how you got there, legacy issues are difficult to kick.

For awhile I have been dealing with outstanding issues at work. It is apparent in the library but it permeates to other departments as well. While there have been a great deal of new hires coming in with fresh ideas, the lingering apathy leaves much to be desired with me. I believe things have been a certain way for so long than its challenging for some to think they could be different and perhaps better.

Legacy problems on the job are not unexpected. Libraries have been accused of embracing old models of thought for ages. Change is difficult and everyone fights with it to some degree. It is expected that when you start a new job, you will be fighting two battles simultaneously.  One will be between your current place and how your old library did it and another between how you do something and how the person in your position before you did it. Sometimes it is worth the battle and sometimes it is not. It is a challenge to determine what to address externally and what to address internally.

I believe my motto in life applies well here. If you don’t like your situation, change it. And if you can’t change it, change your attitude toward it.

This same theme seems to be popping up in my dating life. I did not realize how much prior experience colors my current situation. It is a delicate balance between trying to determine what is an actual current issue and which issues are carry over from previous relationships.

I am not sure I am the expert in learning how to deal with legacy issues. I believe a new beginning allows for a fresh start and a new perspective. I would be lying if I said I was not the one causing the legacy problems sometimes. Change is hard. But I think I am getting better at it all the time.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Dating, Librarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s gettin’ better all the time

  1. Read ‘Getting the Love You Want’ by Harville Hendrix. You will find explanations for your legacy issues + tools to change the future. Well, I did, at least.

Leave a Reply

