We dug a hole and put our heads in it

We are in the preliminary stages of building a new library here. I will admit that was some of the appeal when I decided to accept the job. What library, in the recent past, has had the chance for a new building? Very, very few. So that’s super exciting for us!

What I hadn’t anticipated were the hurdles and walls and sacrifices being made to get to a new building.

We had the opportunity to sit down with the architect today and discuss the plans as they stand now. He gave us as opportunity to voice any concerns we might have. I will say that he’s done a great job with the constraints put upon him. However, as he noted, we have to be locked in to a design by around Christmas so a lot can happen between now and then.

Every time I speak with him, I’m both encouraged and depressed by the state of librarianship. I don’t know that librarians are doing enough and sometimes we’re too focused on the short term and not the long term. I always walk away from these meetings with a ton of things to consider about what I’m doing personally and librarianship as a whole.

I just have to say that I am very grateful for the opportunity to sit in some of these meetings and have my voice heard. In the past, I’ve been on the receiving end of a major change. It’s nice to be in on the planning stages.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Librarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

