Who’s Got the Crack?

Back in the early aughts, I was a big fan of antifolk music. That’s not to say I’m not still a fan, but I’m not keeping up with music in general like I used to. But someone I still follow frequently is Kimya Dawson. This woman has been through a tremendous amount and wears her heart on her sleeve. But she’s exactly what I think the world needs these days. She believes that everyone needs to be reminded that someone loves them.

So I follow her on twitter and it turns out, after her latest solo show in Brooklyn, there was a secret Moldy Peaches reunion. My heart hurts I couldn’t be there. I was there back in 2004 when they  briefly reunited for a benefit for a local record store. My friend and I didn’t think we’d get another shot to see them, so we drove all the way from the no coast and squealed like teenage girls after realizing what we were about to see.

I think had I been at this latest reunion I might have had the same reaction. These are guys I love a lot. I’ve sporadically followed Adam Green’s solo stuff and Steve Mertens, too! I was eager to see what a reunion, 7 years later, would look like. Brooklynvegan this morning made my dreams come true. If only I were there again to witness it live.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

