33 down, 19 to go

Title: The Girl who Became a Beatle
Author: Greg Taylor

Let me preface this by saying I’m a HUGE Beatles fan. So when I happened upon this title, I thought it sounded fun. What would happen if you woke up tomorrow and you were suddenly a Beatle? Any Beatles fan has certainly had this fantasy.

The author decides to place his characters in the now. Regina Bloomsbury is your average teenage kid who is obsessed with music and trying to put together a band of her own. She mimics the Beatles as they are her favorite band. When her band is on the cusp of breakup, she wishes she were actually a Beatle and through the help of her fairy godmother, her wish comes true.

She wakes up in modern times, but in a time when The Beatles never existed. In its place are The Caverns, lead by Regina. The Caverns play Beatles songs but as no one knows who that is, they are known as The Caverns songs.

The thing that made the Beatles HUGE had as much to do with their music as the era they started. The Beatles would not be as successful if they came on the scene now. Part of their success was forming when the world was on the cusp of change. And the Beatles represented that change. Regina’s band doesn’t have that same environment.

As a rabid Beatles fan, I got lost in the small details that kept me from enjoying it. The fact that The Cavern’s first album includes songs from various Beatles’ albums drives me insane. There are very distinct stages of the Beatles career and songs from later in their career would never have made it on to earlier albums.

I know I’m harsh on a young adult book. I’ll be honest, I love the concept – what would you do if you woke up someone else. But the small details really drove me crazy.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

