Girl Talk @ Egyptian Room 8.26.2011

If you look close, you can see the glowing Indian on the right side. Picture courtesy of Kara who takes equally as awesome cell phone shots as I do.

There are few things I enjoy more than a good ole fashioned freak show. And these days, the closest you’re going to get to that is the audience of a Girl Talk show.

I’ve seen Greg Gillis do his thing thrice now and not one of them has been a let down. You’re guaranteed one thing: an all-out dance party. And this time was no exception.

When you walk in and the first thing you see is two-fifths of the Village People, you know you’re in for a good time. People watching at a Girl Talk show might be one of my favorite things. I actually declared at the end of the night that I love this city. And while that statement doesn’t normally come out of my mouth, that night it did.

People took off their stuffy work clothes and donned some of the craziest outfits I’ve seen. DayGlo clothes paired with glow sticks and what can only best be described as polar bear leg warmers. I wish I had taken a picture of that particular girl. She paired them with a pair of short shorts that said “hot mess” on her bum. Hot Mess indeed.

But this is why you go to a Girl Talk show. To see people say “EFF YOU” to the norms and do what they love – dance like a fool to a mashup of songs we all know and love. And to see the entire hodgepodge crowd stop what they were doing and collectively sing along to “Since U Been Gone” by Kelly Clarkson, well, it gives you hope that some day we’ll “all just get along”.

I went with a couple of friends who hadn’t seen Girl Talk before and I think both loved it. How could they not?

By far my favorite part of the night was the completely clueless friend of a friend who was obviously a little tipsy. She turned me and said “I don’t even know where I am. Is this Sweet Talk?” I just looked at her and said “you’re fun when you’re drinking”.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Music, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

