Five Year Mission @ Tilt 8.5.2011

There are few things in the world that I love more than Gen Con weekend. I have never been, mind you, but I love that for four days, geeky kids can be themselves surrounded by equally as geeky people who get it.

I was trying to explain last night MY definition of “geeky” versus “nerdy”. I think of geeks as the gaming/renfair/Star Trek (Wars) loving crew. Nerds are the academic/nose in a book sort of lot. I definitely fall in the latter category. But that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the geeks.

So yesterday when a friend asked me if I wanted to see Five Year Mission play, I thought “Heck yeah I do!” They are five guys who play songs about Star Trek. Their plan is to do a song about each episode of each season of the original Star Trek – thus their five year mission. What could be more geeky?

Disclaimer: I know nothing, ABSOLUTELY nothing, about Star Trek. Except that there are people named Captain Kirk and Sulu and some of them have pointy ears and there are Klingons. But how that makes sense and why people love it is beyond me.

That said, who wouldn’t want to go see a group of guys do songs about each episode of the show? I mean, it’s a pretty great schtick, right? Add in that it was at an arcade during GEN CON and it screamed perfect.

What surprised me, though, is that the guys are good. I didn’t expect indie rock pop goodness. The guys have been around in other rock bands known for their talent so it shouldn’t have been all that surprising. But when you say Star Trek tribute band, I expected ubercheesy and potentially terrible. And they were neither, really.

I’m very much glad that I ventured out during Gen Con weekend. It couldn’t have been a better way to see these guys. (However, I could have done without the bizarre vomit smell and rank body odor. But I was in an arcade. What did I expect?!)

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five Year Mission @ Tilt 8.5.2011

  1. Yeah. We could have done without the hot garbage and BO smell as well. We toughed it out, though!

  2. tom says:

    uh its sulu not zulu.

  3. Pingback: Five Year Mission @ Tile 8.5.2011 | the indie librarian :: FreakyGeeky.com

Leave a Reply

