Ted Leo @ Earth House 7.28.2011

When I first moved here, I was extremely disappointed in the music scene. I came from a city where I had a show I wanted to go to practically every night. And sometimes I had multiple shows on a night and I had to pick and choose. But over the past six years, the scene has really come alive. And I think we can all agree that Craig has had a lot to do with that.

But he can only go so far. He’s been successful at bringing in the acts, but he cannot make people come to the shows. Take last night’s Ted Leo show. The venue supposedly fits 400 people, and I cannot imagine there were more than 200 there. I’m going to blame the excessive heat and humidity for keeping people home. Because I cannot see another reasonable excuse for not coming out and seeing TED LEO.

I was trying to think of the last time I saw Ted Leo. I think it was at Pitchfork where he cracked open his forehead rocking out so hard. So, let’s face it, he had a lot to live up to in my mind. And while this performance was not nearly as amazing, it was still a great show.

I realized last night that I’ve really aged in the last five years. I no longer desperately want to be close even though as a short gal the front is where I can see everything better. I’d much rather stand near the back and away from crowds. It might have just been last night because it was ridiculously hot and the idea of being in the middle of the sweaty lot seemed awful.

I also opted not to see the opening acts who I am sure were wonderful. But because it was still 90 something degrees at 10:30 last night, I opted to minimize the amount of time I was standing around sweating. And the last time I was at the Earth House, I remember how miserably hot it was. So I ventured out of my cool, air-conditioned house to see Ted Leo and ran right back in to the comforts of modern technology.

But it was totally worth the sweat lodge to see him. He pulled out a great mix of new stuff and old favorites. What I LOVE about his shows is that there is SO MUCH ENERGY. This is particularly amazing to me that he’s not changed that energy level despite crossing over the 40-year-old mark. I even commented about how his “slow” songs are even rocking. The guy does not let up. And I LOVE that.

While not from last night’s show, I’ve had this song stuck in my head so I thought I’d share (although I’ve crossed with it The Kinks song “Where Have All the Good Times Gone” but that combo is for another day)

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Music, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

