A Day in the Life – Day 1

Monday mornings can suck it.

I haven’t been sleeping a lot lately and consequently, I end up incredibly grouchy. This is a terrible way to start any Monday, but it’s especially awful when you’re facing a week of being understaffed.

I approved vacation time for this week when we were at full staff. But due to an unexpected retirement we are now down a person. Which means this week, with two people on vacation, I’m flying solo in the library. wheeeee!

I’ll admit, I kind of like working alone some days. I crank up my iPod and have a little dance party in my office. However, this usually happens over the week between Christmas and New Year’s Eve holidays, and there are few people around here. And we typically have a lot of end of year work to do so I can tick a lot off my to-do list. And man do I have a lot on my to-do list. However, this week will prove more challenging.

The thing about my library is that when my staff takes a day off, it’s not as if their work can sit while they are on vacation. Our information is time sensitive and it needs to be processed and routed and filed in a timely fashion. So while my employee is taking the week off, I am doing her job AND my job. And when my boss leaves on Wednesday, I’ll be doing his job as well. Oy.

I don’t mind doing the library assistant’s job, honestly. It keeps me abreast of what she does and  it allows me to keep tabs on her. I’ve spent a good portion of my day cleaning up records that she should have been doing all along. It’s frustrating, but I understand that being understaffed means some things have to slip. And if that means we keep more check-in information in our records than we normally do, I’m not going to complain.

For brevity’s sake, I’m going to bullet point some of the today’s highlights:

  • Spent an extra ordinary amount of time discussing the reduction of a single copy of a legal directory with my boss.
  • Dealt with a vendor about cancellations. When she sends me a confirmation of our conversation, she butchers the spelling of my name. I know my parents
    burdened me with a crazy spelling, but I have the UTMOST respect for people who spell it and pronounce it right. Conversely, I will think you an idiot for butchering it. This time it was one of the more unique spelling variations. She gets kudos for the originality, but I still don’t like it.
  •  12:15 – the internet is down. EVERYBODY PANIC!
  • 12:45 – internet restored. Phew! Just in time for lunch!
  • instructed on how to do searches for trademark equivalents in other countries
  • ship off some ILLs.

Overall, a relatively easy day. Which, as you know, means tomorrow will probably be torture.

As I’m doing this and cpd23 at the same time, I created a simply logo for the sake of branding this series. Feel free to steal if you so desire.

 

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in librarydayinthelife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

