Vancouver Public Library 2008

A friend of mine is in Seattle this weekend and mentioned she was visiting the public library there. I’ve seen pictures and am pretty envious she got to see it in person. But it reminded me I, too, have seen some great libraries in the world. I’ve always wanted to collect pictures of the libraries I’ve visited, and this might just be the inspiration to make that come to fruition.

Here’s my first, of hopefully many,  shots of great libraries I have been able to see.

Vancouver Public Library

The Vancouver Public Library has a great architecturally interesting shape.

What I love about the library is that inside the building are shops and restaurants and the like. They've made it so you can make a day of it at the library.

I love that the books are all labeled with the Canadian flag. You don't see our books with a little picture of the Stars and Stripes on it.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Libraries of the world. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

