How to woo a librarian

You wanna know how to impress me on a date? Take me to a super awesome independent used book store.

The minute I walked through the doors of Hyde Brothers I was in love. The store had all the nooks and crannies filled with books. It extended high above me where only one could reach with a rolling ladder. And the smell! The old familiar musty smell of any good used book store that has been there awhile.

I
was
in heaven.

I’ve always wanted to own my own used book store, but much like librarianship and my former career in journalism, I pick paths that are in a dying field, apparently. Used books will always be around, but it won’t be as easy to maintain a shop and profit from it. But I’ve never been in it for the money. I’ve always wanted to be happy what I’m doing. And people who work at the type of used book stores I love always seem so damn happy.

And I am happy when I’m in that environment.

Any time I move to a new location, I seek out two spots almost instantly: the nearest library and a good used book store. These are places that I feel most comfortable. These are places I call home. Hyde Brothers felt like home.

I walked out with the first Nancy Drew book (I will get to my original plan this year!) and an older version of Huck Finn because how’s this for terrible? I’ve never read Huck Finn or Tom Sawyer. So it’s time I rectified that.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Dating. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to woo a librarian

  1. marchpane81 says:

    REALLY!? Hyde Brothers as in the one in Fort Wayne, Indiana?! If so, the BEST book store I have seen in all of my journeys!

Leave a Reply

