Crickets

As I sit here, it’s been three days this week that the library has been quiet.

I know, novel concept, right? (forgive the pun. I don’t even realize when I make nerdy library jokes)

But for our library, quiet is a rarity. There are no phones ringing. No people talking. There haven’t even been any people coming in the library. And it’s… weird.

Oh I’ve had plenty to do, don’t get me wrong. But I realized that for the longest time I’ve been functioning in ASAP mode and I can finally downshift to looking ahead.

I like to believe that this means things are looking up, that perhaps I can live outside of crazyville for awhile and take a breath. But I can’t help fearing that the other shoe is going to drop at any moment.

But for now, I’ll enjoy the eerie silence and appreciate that I can, for once, rock out to some Arcade Fire in my office without interruptions.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Librarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

