My movie to book ratio is a little off this year

I watched Whip It and Youth in Revolt this weekend. Both were based on books that I had read last year. I don’t want to be a total book snob, but in both cases, the books were better than the movies.

Whip It was actually a surprisingly good movie. I’ll concede and say it was on par with the book. But Youth in Revolt? Holy cats was it terrible. Aside from Michael Cera’s amusing alter ego Francois and having Beulah on the soundtrack, I was bored out of my mind. I’m not certain what I expected as the book contains a crap ton of events that would be impossible to contain in an hour and a half. But I was also hoping that it would be funny and entertaining, and I was just bored.

There’s a meetup group that reads a book and then gets together to watch the movie that was based off of it. I like the idea in theory, but I’m pretty certain I’d be the irritating book snob who ruins the party for everyone else.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

