Where can I find a woman like that?

If you’ve spent any time with me, especially when I’ve had a little to drink, you will hear me profess, REPEATEDLY, that “Jessie’s Girl” has the all-time best lyric of the 80’s.

You know, I feel so dirty when they start talking cute
I wanna tell her that I love her, but the point is probably moot

The more I think about it, “Jessie’s Girl” might be the quintessential 80’s song. Catchy tune about unrequited love sung by handsome television icon. And you can just see a romantic montage in a teen movie being played over it.

It’s my go-to song when I’m having a craptastic day. There’s no way I can keep from smiling when I hear those opening notes. And I think, honestly, that’s what makes a great 80’s tune. The decade was all about doing things to make yourself happy and the music reflected that sentiment.

So I apologize in advance if you’re trying to have a serious conversation with me and this comes on the radio. There’s no way we’re finishing the conversation until I’ve sung along with Rick Springfield. Not that this scenario happened last weekend or anything *whistles*

 

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

