The littlest librarian

Boing Boing this week directed readers to a kit parents can purchase for their kids to play library at home. The kit comes with cards and pockets, library cards, overdue slips and bookmarks. As an adult, I so want it to play home librarian. But how many kids would really appreciate this?

Truthfully? This nerdy kid would have.

When I was a kid, I used to have my own personal library in my closet. In the back of books I’d rate them for reading level and give them a star rating. And I would mark in the book to whom I had loaned it and somewhere there was a master list of who had all my books. It was unsophisticated at best, but I had established my own circulation system.

By the time I got to high school I had convinced myself I wanted to be a journalist. However, I really should have taken cues from when I was a kid to determine what career path I should follow. I knew in my heart I wanted to be a librarian long before my head picked up on it.

Bonus nerdery.  I want so many of these I cannot choose.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Librarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The littlest librarian

  1. Lucy says:

    How very bizarre…why would “To Kill a Mockingbird” only be on a women’s t-shirt…do men not read that book?

  2. They’ve got it in men’s sizes

    While I’ve not read The Wisdom of the Heart, I am a little in love with the design of it.

Leave a Reply

