31 down, 21 to go

Title: Facebook Fairytales: Modern-Day Miracles to Inspire the Human Spirit
Author: Emily Liebert

Meh.

I wanted to like this book. I really, really did. But upon finishing it, I can come to no conclusion besides “meh”

I happened upon this book while picking up some materials for work. In light of my recent rantings about social media and all the bs that surrounds it, I thought perhaps reading a book that highlights some good that comes from Facebook would balance out my indifference.

I was wrong.

Perhaps I’m not a fan of schmaltz (of which this book contains a lot) or perhaps I just have a black, black heart, but I don’t see how Facebook really had a huge role in many of the tales in the book.

Oh there are some that I found interesting: those users who reached out on Facebook when their relative was sick/dying or those trying to raise money to secure surgeries for ailing children in China. But for the most part, Emily Liebert is struggling to weave in Facebook’s connection to many of these stories.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

