28 down, 24 to go

Title: Why Girls are Weird
Author:
Pamela Ribon

This is the second book I’ve read by Pamela Ribon and both have just hit home in ways I never imagined. The first was her book Going in Circles which chronicles a girl finding herself while embracing roller derby. Why Girls are Weird chronicles a girl finding herself while putting it all out on the internet. Are you seeing a theme here?

While the plot lines don’t always line up with my own life story, her main characters are a lot like myself – like many women my age. We’re just struggling to figure out who we are, what we want, and how to go about obtaining it.

Ribon covers relationships and death with a hilarious flair that is relatable. Her characters are people I know, people I like, people I’d hang out with. It’s a rarity for me to find that sort of awesomeness in a character. Ribon has done it twice now in both novels I’ve read of hers. It’s a special talent to make truly realistic people, and Ribon has done it terrifically. I can’t wait to read Why Moms are Weird and hope it ties me over until her next work is published.

About indie librarian

a recently MLS librarian's observations
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

